Until June 30th

Open call for the 16th Edition Frontiers of Knowledge Awards


Basic Sciences

Aitziber López Cortajarena

Ikerbasque Research Professor, Scientific Director and Biomolecular Nanotechnology Group Leader. CIC biomaGUNE, Center for Cooperative Research in Biomaterials. Spain


María José García Borge

Research Professor. Institute of the Structure of Matter (IEM), CSIC. Spain.


Emmanuel Candès

Barnum-Simons Professor in Mathematics and Statistics of the Departments of Mathematics and Statistics at Stanford University (United States)


Sandip Tiwari

Charles N. Mellowes Professor of Engineering at Cornell University (United States) and Distinguished Visiting Professor at the Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur (India)


Martin Quack

Head of Molecular Kinetics and Spectroscopy Group, Laboratory of Physical Chemistry at ETH Zurich (Switzerland)


Nigel Hitchin

Emeritus Savilian Professor of Geometry in the Mathematical Institute at the University of Oxford (United Kingdom)


Theodor W. Hänsch

Director of the Division of Laser Spectroscopy at the Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics (Germany) 2005 Nobel Prize in Physics


Hongkun Park

Mark Hyman Jr. Professor of Chemistry and Professor of Physics at Harvard University (United States)

Biology and Biomedicine

Óscar Marín

Professor of Neuroscience and Director of the MRC Centre for Neurodevelopmental Disorders at King’s College London (United Kingdom)


Bruce Whitelaw

Professor of Animal Biotechnology at University of Edinburgh (United Kingdom)


Ali Shilatifard

Robert Francis Furchgott Professor of Biochemistry and Pediatrics at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine (United States)


Ursula Ravens

Guest scientist at the Institute of Experimental Cardiovascular Medicine at the University Heart Center of the University of Freiburg (Germany)


Robin Lovell-Badge, CBE

Senior Group Leader and Head of Laboratory of Stem Cell Biology and Developmental Genetics at the Francis Crick Institute (London, United Kingdom)


Lélia Delamarre

Director and Distinguished Scientist, Department of Cancer Immunology, Genentech (United States)


Dario Alessi

Director of the MCR Protein Phosphorylation and Ubiquitylation Unit in the College of Life Sciences at Dundee University (United Kingdom)


Angelika Schnieke

Chair of Livestock Technology at the Technical University of Munich (Germany)

Information and Communication Technologies

Mario Piattini

Professor of Computer Languages and Systems at the University of Castilla-La Mancha (Spain)


Joos Vandewalle

Honorary President of the Royal Flemish Academy of Belgium for Science and the Arts (Belgium)


Rudolf Kruse

Professor in the Faculty of Computer Science at the Otto von Guericke University of Magdeburg (Germany)


Oussama Khatib

Professor of Computer Science and Director of the Robotics Laboratory at Stanford University (United States)


Georg Gottlob

Professor of Informatics at the University of Oxford (United Kingdom) and and Vienna University of Technology (Austria)


Ron Ho

Senior Director of Silicon Engineering at Meta (United States)


Regina Barzilay

School of Engineering Distinguished Professor for AI and Health at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (United States)

Ecology and Conservation Biology

María Begoña García

Researcher in the Department of Biodiversity Conservation at the Pyrenean Institute of Ecology (CSIC) (Spain)


Joanna E. Lambert

Professor of Environmental Studies at the University of Colorado-Boulder (United States)


Rik Leemans

Professor of Environmental Systems Analysis at Wageningen University (Netherlands)


Pedro Jordano

Research Professor in the Department of Integrative Ecology at Doñana Biological Station, CSIC and an Associate Professor in the Department of Plant Biology and Ecology at the University of Seville (Spain)


Emily S. Bernhardt

James B. Duke Distinguished Professor and Chair of the Department of Biology at Duke University (United States)


Paul M. Brakefield

Professor of Zoology, Emeritus at the University of Cambridge

Climate Change
Paul Wassmann 2023

Paul Wassmann

Professor Emeritus, Department of Arctic and Marine Biology. UiT The Arctic University of Norway

Jose Manuel Gutierrez 2023

José Manuel Gutiérrez

Director of the Instituto de Física de Cantabria, IFCA (CSIC-University of Cantabria, Spain)

Julie A. Winkler 2023

Julie A. Winkler

Professor of Geography in the Department of Geography, Environment and Spatial Sciences at Michigan State University (United States)

Edward S. Rubin 2023

Edward S. Rubin

Alumni Chair Professor of Environmental Engineering and Science at Carnegie Mellon University (United States)  

Martin Heimann 2023

Martin Heimann

Director Emeritus of the Department of Biogeochemical Systems at the Max Planck Institute for Biogeochemistry (Germany)

Miguel Canals 2023

Miquel Canals

Director of the Department of Earth and Ocean Dynamics. University of Barcelona (Spain)  

Sandrine Bony 2023

Sandrine Bony

Director of Research at the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique / Sorbonne University (France)

Carlos M. Duarte 2023

Carlos M. Duarte

Tarek Ahmed Juffali Research Chair in Red Sea Ecology. King Abdullah University of Science and Technology. Saudi Arabia

Bjorn Stevens 2023

Bjorn Stevens

Director of the Max Planck Institute for Meteorology (Hamburg, Germany)

Economics, Finance and Management

Sir Richard Blundell

David Ricardo Professor of Political Economy at University College London (United Kingdom)


Antonio Ciccone

Professor of Economics at the University of Mannheim (Germany)


Eric S. Maskin

Adams University Professor at Harvard University (United States) 2007 Nobel Prize in Economics


Manuel Arellano

Professor of Economics in the Center for Monetary and Financial Studies (CEMFI) of Banco de España (Spain)


Lucrezia Reichlin

Professor of Economics at the London Business School (United Kingdom)


Andreu Mas-Colell

Professor Emeritus of Economics at Pompeu Fabra University and Barcelona School of Economics (Spain)


Pinelopi Koujianou Goldberg

Elihu Professor of Economics and Global Affairs at Yale University (United States)


Antonio Ciccone

Professor in the Department of Economics at the University of Mannheim (Germany) and the Department of Economics and Business at Pompeu Fabra University (Barcelona, Spain)


Fabrizio Zilibotti

Tuntex Professor of International and Development Economics at Yale University (United States)

Humanities and Social Sciences (Humanities)

José María Fernández Cardo

Emeritus Professor of French at the University of Oviedo


Violeta Demonte

Emerita Professor of Spanish at the Universidad Autónoma de Madrid (Spain)


Ignacio Bosque

Honorary Professor of Spanish at the Universidad Complutense de Madrid and a member of the Royal Spanish Academy


José Manuel Sánchez Ron

Emeritus Professor of History of Science at the Universidad Autónoma de Madrid (UAM) and numbered member of the Real Academia Española


Carmen Iglesias

Professor of History of Political Thought and Systems at the Universidad Complutense de Madrid. Director of the Royal Academy of History (Spain)


Isabel Burdiel

Professor of Contemporary History at the University of Valencia (Spain)

Music and Opera
Gabriela Ortiz Torres

Gabriela Ortiz Torres

Composer and Professor of Composition at the National Autonomous University of Mexico

Peter Paul Kainrath

Peter Paul Kainrath

CEO of Klangforum Wien (Austria)

Juan Carlos Garvayo

Juan Carlos Garvayo Medina

Professor at the Madrid Royal Conservatory of Music. Trío Arbós (Spain)

Silvia Colasanti

Silvia Colasanti

Composer (Italy)

Raquel Garcia-Tomas

Raquel García-Tomás

Composer (Spain)

Pedro Halffter

Pedro Halffter Caro

Conductor and composer (Spain)

Victor Garcia de Gomar

Víctor García de Gomar

Artistic Director of the Gran Teatre del Liceu (Spain)